Mellow Yellow – my new creation!

Yesterday I dyed some wool destined to worn by Miss almost 4 and as she loves the colour yellow (she always says kowhai and hardly ever the word yellow) it had to be one of the coloursto be used. I had a 200g hank of white Utiku 8ply Wool from The Wool Company to use for this project.

I soaked the hank in vinegar & water solution in the tub for about 30-40 minutes.

Wool soaking in vinegar & cold water

Wool soaking in vinegar & cold water

Then wrung out a bit mainly to transfer it to the kitchen. Then I twisted the hank into a shape & popped it into a bg pot that had a sieve insert thing in it so the wool is not on the bottom of the pot whne element is going.

Wool twisted and ready for dye

Wool twisted and ready for dye

I had two lots of bowls with the two colours. One was the yellow colour with yellow food colouring and a bit of peach cake icing dye and the other was the pink based colour from two cake icing dyd (a vibrant pink mixed with a touch of purple). Both of these colours were hot mixed and had to be diluted with more water to get a nicer tone.

Big pot heating for wool plus colour pots heating up too.

Big pot heating for wool plus colour pots heating up too.

My little helper.

My little helper.

I poured the yellow mix over the twisted presoaked hank in an haphazard pattern and left spot for the second colour. I then added the pink mix. The colours took really well and some areas were darker than others which was fine by me. I still had some un dyed spots so made up some more of each colour and again added them on. I also flipped the hank over to do the underside.

After colours added & flipped over.

After colours added & flipped over.

I poured the remainder of the colour mix into the big pot and let it heat in the pot on the stove for about 15 minutes. It was not boiling but just a low simmer. I only prodded the wool in fear of moving it too much.

In the pot on low heat

In the pot on low heat

When I removed the wool from the pot there was no colour in the water at all which I think is a great sign.

Clear water once wool removed - amazing!

Clear water once wool removed - amazing!

 I then squezed the hank a bit and let cool.

Wool draining and cooling

Wool draining and cooling

Tideied up the bench fed the kids lunh etc and then did a salt water cool soak in the tub for a while. Again no colour came out.

Post dye soak in salt water to make sure the colour is set

Post dye soak in salt water to make sure the colour is set

I got a towel out and laid out the hank on it lengthways and then folded it up and then twisted the hank to wring out as much water as possible and then let it dry on the clothes rack near the window but not in the direct sun.

Twisting wool in towel to wring it dry

Twisting wool in towel to wring it dry

 

 

Hanging to dry

Hanging to dry

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have balled it up and it looks great !

Mellow Yellow yarn ready for use!

Mellow Yellow yarn ready for use!

One happy wee girl!

One happy wee girl!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Knitting, My children, Wool dying

One response to “Mellow Yellow – my new creation!

  1. Julia

    You cleaver lady you!!! it looks fantastic!!!

Leave a Reply

