I love my recipe book….

it is a firm fav now when I think of baking – “Ladies a plate”. I got it for Christmas from hubby and am slowly trying out the recipes.  On Sunday just been I made two new things from it.

The first thng was Ginger Crunch as Hubby is a fan of it so thought I better whip it up as he was mowing the lawns while suffering from shingles – poor guy.

It was easy to make and indeed have a cruch to it. I made mine a bit thin but it was still very yummy. Here are some photos 🙂

Close up of the ginger cruch before cutting & putting away.

Close up of the ginger cruch before cutting & putting away.

DSCF4198

The second clice was a surprise – I LOVE it so much. It is called “Scott’s Farewell Slice” for farewelling Scott on his trip to Antartica. The one neat thing about this recipe book is that it has blurb about the origins of the recipe and the cookbook it came from. I love it. I can remember going through my Nana’s cookbooks and googling at the old covers and recipes. I also think there is something special in making old calssic cakes, muffins (called small cakes), slices and biscuits. There are even condiments and other things at the back. Anyway I digress! The Scotts Farewell Slice is like a scroggin slice. I added some LSA (linseed, almond and sunflower meal) to it plus some dried apricots. DELICIOUS!

Here are some photos of the recipe and the reult. I decided to not ice it as to be honest it is fantastic as it is.

Slice with the recipe behind it.

Slice with the recipe behind it.

Yummy goodness!

Yummy goodness!

Blurb about the recipe.

Blurb about the recipe.

The cookbook the recipe was found

The cookbook the recipe was found

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Chit chat, Recipes

Leave a Reply

