Colours, wool, bowls, apron = FUN!

My Mum had sent me some wool that she had found in my late Nana’s extensive wool stash. The wool was a cream very wooly smelling yarn that was on cones so Mum wound the yarn into balls for me. I unwound two balls into large skeins using my rather haphazard method of upending two dining chairs and walk round and round in circles! Great exercise.

Anyway, I dyed one lot this morning after a overnight soak in vinegar water solution (dosen’t have to be that long but hey!) while Miss 1 was asleep and Miss3 was at kindy. It is quite fun pottering around with colours adding a bit of this and a bit of that and then diluting. I was going to use some kool aid sachets but I didn’t like the colour they resulted in so tipped it out. I ended up using my trusty food colouring and cake gels together.

The wool looked like this orginally from Mum.

Nana's wool

Nana's wool

The morning dye lot I choose pinks and purples and wanted it to be a gradual mix. I used the slow cooker for this to see how that went. The colours looked neat but after awhile they blended abit too much.

My pink/purple colour heating in the slow cooker

My pink/purple colour heating in the slow cooker

Here is a close up of one section of the pink/purple skein

Yummmm!

Yummmm!

This afternoon I quickly unwound another ball and decided to use some gender nuetral colours – blue and greens. I again used my food colourings and cake gels and made up two bowls of different grrens and one of a yummy dark blue. I didn’t use the slow cooker this time as prefered the big pot with an inner holey pot (must be a sieve/straine type thing!). I poured the colours oved the bunched yarn and pressed the colour through. I then tunred the wool over to make sure the colour was on all of the wool and then plopped the yarn into a big pyrex bowl and nukked it in the microwave two times for three minutes to heat seal the colour. I then rinsed it in cold water. Did this twice as a little colour did cme out but not on the second rinse.

Here is the yarn rinising in cold water.

Greeny goodness

Greeny goodness

Here is a photo of the green/blue skein drying

I like!

I like!

Here are the two skeins drying on the clothes racks – multi tasking!

Nappies and wool

Nappies and wool

I am looking forward to balling and then winding them into a smaller skein to see how the colours look. Watch this space for more photos! Now I have to dream up some projects with them. Off to Ravelry! 😆

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting, Wool dying

Leave a Reply

