Kayla’s Kaia

My friend Rachel Evans online whom I have met has been designing some cute patterns since she had her wee girl Kaia. It’s no wonder she has as Kaia is just adorable! Anyway Kaia Babydoll pattern is the 1st one I have tried so far but have another one of her’s I want to do. I decided to do one for Makayla and had some yummy gifted hand dyed 8ply that would be perfect as I only had 100g of it.

The pattern is quite cool as you start off knitting double stranded so I used a white yarn with the varigated hand dyed one which gave a nice effect. Once the bodice is done you drop one strand (in this case I dropped the white) and then change to smaller needles and knit one stitch and thenthe next stitch you knit into each strand tio make up the number of stitches in decresing needles and strands – works really well. I did option 2 where you don’t work an eyelet row for a ribbon or tie as I wanted to see how it turned out without one. At the bottom is a lace trim which took a wee while!

Here are some photos of the top and then being modelled by Makayla.

Kayla's Kaia all freshly pressed

Kayla's Kaia all freshly pressed

Close up of the bodice

Close up of the bodice

Lace trim

Lace trim

On Miss Makayla

On Miss Makayla

Back/side view

Back/side view

One happy wee girl!

One happy wee girl!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Knitting, My children

One response to “Kayla’s Kaia

  1. Jo

    That’s so pretty, I printed this pattern in the weekend to make C one as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

