Snow time!

As Murphey’s Law would have it I joined up to Blogtober Fest yesterday and then it started snowing…..now we are at my parent’s in laws place at a lower level in Ohakune hunkering down together. We were not wanting to risk things at home as although the house is lovely and new, if we have a power cut we loose access to heating (gas heating – no fire), water (pumped by power from big tanks) and phone! So not cool at all! 🙂

Snow banked on our bedroom sliding door (Southerly facing)

Snow banked on our bedroom sliding door (Southerly facing)

Snow starting to come in strong

Snow starting to come in strong

So I can’t really do any posts on here with my photos or anything – so rather boring!

I have my knitting with me (haha as if I would leave home without it!) so am making progress with two size 4 test knits! I am doing the Jo Pinafore as previously posted by Gurnard on Ravelry aka as Kelly. I’m up to the last strap (whew!) and hope to finish it today and then sew in all the ends. So I am looking forward to that I tell you. The double knitting for the straps is fiddly and has taken wayyyy longer than I expected!

I am doing another test knit for my friend Rachel who designed the Kaia Babydoll top. Her other pattern is the Spring Butterfly and I am testing the size 4 size as Rachel had only released it as a size 1 pattern and is now trying out a range of sizes for release soon! So lucky Ariana is getting two new tops very soon – lucky girl. I started the top on Friday evening and kept knitting and knitting! I learnt how to do picot cast off for the sleeves so that was fun. At 2am I decided I better get to bed though! 😆 I am hoping to get both test knits done this week so I can supply Kelly and Rachel with the measurements they require.

Here is a photo of the WIP (work in progress):

Spring Butterfly in progress

Spring Butterfly in progress

Ariana is very excited about having these two new tops to wear soon especially since her 4th birthday is coming up at the end of the month.

Right back to keeping warm and knitting by the fire. I’ll post some photos soon I promise!

1 Comment

Filed under Blogtober, Chit chat, Family, Knitting, Test knits

One response to “Snow time!

  1. Sam

    i hope you have a rocking chair to knit in by the fire 😉

Leave a Reply

