Morning Munchies

DSCF5799

Light Summer Muesli

I saw a demo of a muesli recipe last Tuesday while having a spot of knitting on the “Good Morning” show on TV1. The homemade muesli recipe was from a new book called “Fit Food Fast” and was called “Light Summer Muesli”. Here is the link on the Good Morning website to the muesli recipe pluas a yummy Kumara and Smoked Chicken recipe: Fit Food Fast.

Light summer muesli

You can use any of your favourite dried fruits in this recipe. Why not try raisins, sultanas, dried pineapple or dried papaya?

1) Preheat oven to 180�C.
2) Combine the first 4 ingredients in a large bowl. Mix oil into these ingredients until well coated.
3) Spread mix over a baking tray and bake for 10-15 minutes until golden brown.
4) Allow to cool before adding dried fruit and mix well. Store in an airtight container.

Prep: 10 minutes
Cook: 15 minutes
Makes: 20 servings

5 cups Rolled Oats
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup sunflower oil
11/2 cups chopped dried fruit (e.g. cranberries and apricots)

Analysis per serve
Energy (kJ) 893
Protein (g) 6
Fat – total (g) 11
– saturated (g) 3
Carbohydrate (g) 21
– sugars (g) 7
Sodium (mg) 42
*** Fibre

I made it yesterday and it is yummy! It is great to have something like this that I can make, I know what is in it and I bet it is cheaper than the flash packaged supermarket ones. The ingrediants are: rolled oats, coconut, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, sunflower oil and then fruit. I added dried cranberries and chopped dried apricot. I also added in a portion of LSA (linseed, sunflower and almond mix).

DSCF5797

Roasting pan of goodness

DSCF5798

Up close

DSCF5800

Yum!

7 Comments

Filed under Baking, Recipes

7 responses to “Morning Munchies

  1. Looks awsome!
    I saw that on Good Morning last week during a spo of knitting too! hahaha
    might have to give it a go

  2. Kelly

    that does look delish Kate!

  3. Yummo now I want to make some too.

  4. Mel

    Looks yummy 🙂 I can’t eat nuts so if I ever want muesli or granola or anything like that I have to make it myself to be sure it’s safe for me to eat, so thanks for this idea for a new combination 🙂

  5. Jo

    Yum, just about the same as the recipe I have, only difference is my one has Wheatgerm in it. Bet you will never go back to brought museli again.

  6. Sarah

    Looks good – thanks for the heads up today – will totally try it!

Leave a Reply

