Traveling Woman

Yahooo I have done it!!! I have knitted my first (hee hee already started another) lace shawl. It is a labour of love and I must say I am so pleased how it turned out. I used some 4ply raspberry merino yarn I have had in my stash for a while just waiting for the perfect pattern. The pattern chosen was the Traveling Woman on Ravelry for free.

Here are some progress photos taken after I had done chart 1 once:

It's getting there!

Up close.

Here is the shawl once I had cast off and prior to ends being sewn in and blocking. Miss M was interested and had to be in the photo! 😆

This shows the colour the best as it is a dark pinky red.

I gave the shawl a wee soak and then spin in the machine – ready to be blocked into shape. It was so exciting to see the lace work reveal itself during this process and see how big it really is.

Taking shape - again the real colour of the shawl

Pinned in to shape

It didn’t take long at all to dry so I could get some better photos of it outside.

On a bush!!

Loving the lace pattern

Folded ready to be posted overseas

This shawl is a belated giveaway to Mel for participating on my blog during Blogtober fest in October 2009. I hope it is worth her wait.

I have cast on another lace shawl project but it is under wraps as it is going to be a surprise for some one I love dearly. You’ll have to wait and see!! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Gifts, Knitting, Lace, Shawl

3 responses to “Traveling Woman

  1. So pretty, love it & the pattern.

  2. Mel

    It looks soooo worth the wait 🙂 Just beautiful! (Do I get Miss M as part of the prize?!)

  3. I’ve come over from Mel’s blog to admire that beautiful shawl – it’s stunning in its lacy intricacy and the raspberry colour is beautiful. And the longies and rainbow dress are super.

Leave a Reply

