Gradient wool dyeing = FUN!

Gradient wool dyeing

Gosh I had fun last night! I have been wanting to try gradient wool dyeing for a wee while now and decided what the heck last night.

I spied a tutorial of sorts on Crafty Desires and tried it out!

I used 2 50g balls of plain white wool (Fabulous Fibres Charity 8ply – nothing fancy as the trial run) and looped them into eight bunches by looping them around my elbow and hand. I secured each little skein so the chances of tangling were minimised.

Looped and ready to dye

I had the dyes all premixed and ready to go on the table and a trusty spoon to dunk the wool in and get the colour soaking well.

About to pop the wool in...

I let them soak for a while and the colours took well. I then donned my disposable gloves and got some snap lock bags ready. I squeezed each colour lot of the solution and popped them into a bag each with the joining loop out between them.

Eight snap lock bags on the microwave plate...

I then popped them into the microwave for 2 minutes, rest for 2 minutes and then repeat again followed by one more 2 minute blast. This steams the wool & dye to help set the colour. I then took them out after I had let them cool a bit and squeesed more excess water out. The colours looked great!

Look at the colours!

I then popped them onto a towel and stood on them to get more water out. I then very carefully wound each section back into a skein so I could hang it to dry over night. 

Here is the yarn twisted in a skein this morning once it was dry – shows the colours nicely.

Nice!

It looks even better when I wound it inot a ball using my handy dandy swift & wool winder:

The rainbow effect

It was easier than I thought it would be and I am itching to do another lot but a lighter less intense one. Addictive!!!

5 Comments

Filed under Stash, Wool dying

5 responses to “Gradient wool dyeing = FUN!

  1. Awesome! Thanks for the tute Kate – I’ve been meaning to try gradient dyeing and it looks like fun! Yours looks gorgeous and I can’t wait to see it knitted up 🙂

  2. awesome job on the wool, I’m going to have to try this one soon 🙂

  3. Kelly

    Self striping yarn, cool!

  4. Jodie

    this is great, you’ve inspired me to try dyeing, 🙂

Leave a Reply

