The Magic of Birthdays!

This weekend we have celebrated two wee birthdays. My nephew turned 3 late July and my youngest is turning 2 on Wednesday so we had a weekend celebrating them while their grandparents were up visiting.

Today was Makayla’s wee party and we all had fun. The only downside was the weather – liquid sunshine again!  Our house is a bit small but managed to cope with children and parents with some game children running around outside.

I made a rainbow cake for M’s birthday cake. It was fun to make! I used five colours (I used plain old food colouring too) – blue, green, red, purple and yellow. I cheated & used 2x packet mix. 😆

Beginning stages of the Rainbow Birthday Cake

All five colours added now into the oven....

All cooked but not looking overly flash!

The cake all finished, styled as “Little Bo Sheep” inspired from this new Kiwiana Cake book.

"Little Bo Sheep" Birthday Cake

"I want it!" Makayla before we sung Happy Birthday

Here is the cake after I cut into it to share:

Colours reveal themselves

Rainbow cake

Miss Makayla loved the balloons, food and friends…

Bouncing on balloons

Wee tea cups

Big sister having fun as well.

As I write this the house need a clean, Miss 4 is watching Kidszone, hubby is at work to get a run down for next week and wee birthday girl is fast asleep. Needless to say I am TIRED! It was a fun family weekend. Great memories indeed.

Thanks everyone who came, passed on a message or helped.

5 Comments

Filed under Baking, Family, My children, Recipes

5 responses to “The Magic of Birthdays!

  1. Sam

    LOVE it!!!!

    Happy Birthday Miss Makalya!!!

  2. It looks great! Love the cake and those little tea cups! I haven’t seen them done before but can imagine they’d be a hit around here 🙂 And happy birthday on Wednesday to your baby girl! 2 already. Now, go have a cuppa tea and put your feet up hun, you’ve definitely earnt it xoxo

  3. Wow. Colour and sugar never fail to impress me!

  4. Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, great blog!

Leave a Reply

