Fun in the kitchen

I have been trying out new meals recently and the family have given the thumbs up! 🙂 All good.

I tried Carrot and Red Lentil Dahl last Sunday night and it is a yummy economical dish. Nothing like having something new to try and find you have all the ingredients waiting to be used.  Click on the link and have a go!

Tonight I did another curry dish called Butter Chickpeas and we had it on rice. Yum!

Butter Chickpeas

2 small or 1 large onions, diced
grated fresh ginger* (I just used crushed from jars :blush:)
grated fresh garlic  (I just used crushed from jars :blush:)
1 dsp curry powder OR cumin, coriander and chilli powder
1-2 cups cooked chickpeas (I use a tin of Delamane as it has a high chickpea %), dried is cheaper though
1 can chopped tomatoes
1/2 can coconut cream (you can freeze the other half can)

Fry onions, garlic, ginger and curry flavourings.
pour in can tomatoes and chickpeas, cook down slightly, then add the coconut cream.
cook till reduced to a thick creamy consistency (will depend on your coconut cream, I’ve had massive variations between brands and even cans) Season with salt if necessary.
Serve over fluffy rice.

* Keep your root ginger in a ziplock bag in the freezer, and just grate as required.

You can do this in a slow cooker:  do the frying off, chuck in the chickpeas in the slow cooker, the tomatoes in the frypan with the spices etc, then tip the lot into the slow cooker.

Standard slow cooker timings… 5hrs high or 8 hours low (or on high for a bit, then on low for the remainer if my timing is off  ) and add the coconut cream near the end.

~~~~~~~

I have also been making some batches of homemade Hot Cross Buns and they are damn awesome and delicious!

 

My first batch of Hot Cross Buns

Don’t you just want to eat these like right now?! I do.

Here is the recipe which hails from Alison & Simon Holst Book called “The New Zealand Bread Book” which I would like to get. My friend copied this recipe for me so now I want to see and try more. 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Baking, Kitchen, Recipes

8 responses to “Fun in the kitchen

  1. Cathy Mulligan

    YUM! That recipe sounds delish, I will definitely try it (and I have to confess to having jars of ginger and garlic too…). Your hot cross buns look AMAZING and put the supermarket ones to shame!

    • They are honestly yummy!!! Nothing like making something yourself. Give them a go! Let me know how you go.

      • Cathy Mulligan

        Made the butter chickpea dish tonight – unbelievably I didn’t have a tin of tomatoes in the pantry so had to improvise with a couple of fresh ones and some vege stock. But it was still delish, the kids loved it too. I also threw in some frozen peas which worked well. I should try the Hot X Buns but as I can’t eat them myself (I’m coeliac) it would be too hard to make them and not be able to eat them!!

  2. Thanks for the recipe, will have to try it. I’m trying to collect more low cost vege dishes. Great tip about freezing the coconut cream, hadn’t thought of that. I just tend to use the whole can which isn’t that healthy.

  3. OMG that hot cross buns looks so good!

  4. Those are the best looking hot cross buns I’ve ever seen! And I love the chickpea recipe.

  5. these look delicious!
    xxoxo
    bB

    please do stop by and say hi
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  6. I made the hot cross buns today for lunch and they went down a real treat. Thanks so much for posting the recipe!

Leave a Reply

