Chocolate Hot Cross Buns

I am going to try this soon but thought I would post the recipe for you as  well if you wanted to do a Bake-Along with me. 🙂

Chocolate Hot Cross Bun

3 tsp instant active yeast
1/2 cup milk
3/4 cup hot water
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt
50g butter melted
1 large egg
1/2 cup cocoa powder
4 cups high grade flour
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Hand made bread instructions

Measure the yeast, milk, hotwater, 1 Tablesppon of the brown sugar and the salt into a large bowl. Stir after 2 minutes to ensure the yeast has dissolved before adding 2 cups of the measured high-grade flour. Cover and leave in a warm place for about 30 mins

In another bowl mix together the melted butter and remaining brown sugar, then beat in the egg. Add the risen yeast mixture and the cocoa powder and remaining flour and mix to make a dough just firm enough to knead, adding a little extra flour if necessary.

Knead with the dough hook of an electric mixer or by hand on a lightly floured surface for 10 mins, add the chocolate chips and knead for 1 minute longer
Shape and bake as per below.

SHAPING AND BAKING

Divide the dough evenly into four pieces, then again into four quarters so you have 16 pieces in total. Shape each one into a round ball and arrange in non-stick sprayed (and/or baking paper lined) baking pans or a rectangular roasting dish, leaving baout 1cm between each bun. Cover with cling film and leave in a warm place until doubled in size.

My friends note: (NB: I don’t cover in cling film but put a hot damp teatowel over it and put it in my warm oven – I’ve found this works best for me, As soon as I use glad wrap my buns don’t seem to rise as they dry out before hand and end up flat).

If you want to add pastry crosses use the method as per the other recipe, alternatively bake the buns first and decorate when cooled with crosses made from vanilla or chocolate icing or melted white or dark chocolate.

 

Sounds delicious doesn’t it! I will post some photos of them soon.

1 Comment

Filed under Baking, Easter treats, Kitchen, Recipes

One response to “Chocolate Hot Cross Buns

  1. Kylie

    Yummo!! Those Hot X Buns sound sooo delish, think I will have to give them a go over the weekend and have a bake-a-long with you 😉 , am sure my kids will love them too, they requested choc hot x buns last easter but I never got round to finding a recipe so thanks for sharing 🙂 .
    Oh are you able to share your naan bread recipe you posted about a wee while ago too? would love to try that too. I tried looking at my local library for the book you got it from but the didnt have it 😦 Thanks

Leave a Reply

