Knitting with L♥ve

I have been busy with some secret gift knitting. It has been been fun planning and seeing these projects take shape. Two of the patterns I haven’t done before and I thoroughly enjoyed knitting them. ♥

All Season’s Cardigan designed by Kelly Brooker

It is a versatile item for any girl wardrobe as it adds a layer of warmth over a tshirt or singlet with a skirt or shorts for the warmer months and when it is cooler with jeans and a long sleeve top. I knitted this for our neighbour’s daughter who has just turned 5 years old. The colour should suit her to a T. Thanks to my friend Julia for the awesome hand dyed yarn.

Size 4 All Season's Cardigan in hand dyed 10ply 100% wool

Pretty as a flower

Hanging and waiting to be gifted to a birthday girl

I totally receommend this pattern as it is a quick knit and interesting enough to keep you going. The pattern can be knit in 8ply to a light worsted & heavy worsted weight 10ply. The sizes range from 12 – 18 months to size 6 years. I will be knitting this for my 6yo soon as she just adored it.

The next item is the In Plume Shrug designed by Christine Jeffery. This is a seamless shrug that is sized from NB up to size 12 years. The lace sections are easy enough to work and look awesome once blocked. I made this for my neighbour’s daughter in a size 10years. This was also my first time knitting this pattern.

In Plume Shrug

Loving the lace!

The third and most beautiful piece (well I would say that! :lol:) is the Travelling Woman Shawl by Liz Abinante. I have done this one before so knew it was an awesome knit. It is a great beginner shawl pattern as the repeats are predictable. The first time I knitted this pattern I had a stitch marker along the row marking each pattern repeat so I could easily glance and count stitches and see if I had made a mistake. This time around I didn’t do that as I can now read the stitches easier now.

I used some delish hand dyed yarn from Red Riding Hood yarns dyed by my friend Hannah. This is a 10ply luxury 100% wool in a colourway called “Silver Shadow”.

Travelling Woman Shawl

Travelling Woman Shawl

Lace detail

In the light of day

Check out my previous post from January 2010 linking to a blog post I found about the many ways to wear a shawl other than the old granny style over your shoulders: How to wear a shawl.

2 Comments

Filed under Gifts, Knitting, Lace, Shawl

2 responses to “Knitting with L♥ve

  1. Cat

    Oh WOW loving the cardi you’ve made – it’s gorgeous and the colour is sooooooo pretty!

Leave a Reply

