Swallowtail Shawl

Gosh it has been a while since I have posted. Five months! Sorry.

Lots has been happening with little munchkin turning one and now 16 months and 16 teeth and the middle munchkin over four years and the eldest about to turn seven!

I would love to kick off my blog catch up with this recent finished knit. I started this when my Mum was visiting and finished it while at the in laws for the long weekend. The pattern is Swallowtail Shawl and is a free pattern on Ravelry.com so check it out and give it a go. 🙂 I did learn a new lace skill while doing this called nupps which is basically bobbles. You make one stitch become five by knitting it and not taking it off the left needle and yarn over, repeat and then knit it one last time. The next row you purl all of the five stitches you created together. It is a touch tricky as there is a yarn over each side of it! Sounds fun huh? 😉 😆

I won this yarn through the Ravelry version of the Olympics called The Ravellenics. I was part of the New Zealand Aotearoa team. The yarn is Kaunui and is from Denmark. To be honest it is not the softest of wool to touch. The end result is just so damn awesome though! Brilliant and brillant and shows off the lace so well. I wore it this morning to an appointment and got loads of comments, just what a knitter needs to hear!

Swallowtail Shawl

All out flat.

I loved watching the colours appear….

Early stages.

Up to the nupps stage

Getting there.

Now to get a decent photo of it on me!

ETA here is a photo from yesterday I snapped on my phone.

3 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Lace, Selfish Knit, Shawl

3 responses to “Swallowtail Shawl

  1. It is gorgeous!! I love knitting with gradients, they are so hard to put down!

Leave a Reply

