Its Poverty

Please read this wonderfully written post by my friend Carla. So insightful and so bang on.

More than instant noodles

The other nights “The Vote” on TV3 stirred a huge fire in my belly, I will take you back to this post I wrote a couple of years ago: http://morethaninstantnoodles.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/there-is-poverty-in-nz/ and then this one I wrote several months ago: http://morethaninstantnoodles.wordpress.com/2012/12/01/hope-only-does-so-much-help-needs-to-do-more/

I talk about the feelings and emotions people go through when faced with the reality of poverty, I talk about educating those who do not know better, I talk about projects that could be so beneficial and helpful to those who need it, educating in what is basic life skills for some but foreign for others.

I talk about how easy it is to get into debt, how disempowering it is to feel like you have no other options, the shame, the defeat.

I used to be of the opinion that there was no “real” poverty in NZ, we have a welfare system for goodness sakes, we have houses and…

View original post 1,709 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

